Grasshopper - New in Rhino 6 for Windows


The long wait is over: Rhino 6 includes Grasshopper. Used in some of the most ambitious design projects of the past decade, Grasshopper, like Rhino, has become a robust development platform. Grasshopper provides the foundation for many third-party components ranging from environmental analysis to robotic control. The Grasshopper bundled with Rhino 6 is the same Grasshopper you have been using, plus many enhancements.

Video credits    

Same ol' Grasshopper ...only better!

The Grasshopper in Rhino 6 for Windows is the same Grasshopper we've been busy developing for years so it should be familiar. That said, it does have many new features and enhancements that were not in the long-lived beta.

One Install

Grasshopper installs with Rhino 6 for Windows. Updates and bug fixes come in regular service releases.


If you have been a user for years, you should feel right at home in the Grasshopper in Rhino 6 for Windows.

High DPI

High DPI displays are now supported.


The Grasshopper in Rhino 6 for Windows is compatible with existing components.

...and many more.

New Components

Including Make2D, Symbol Display, Bend, Flow, Maelstrom, Splop, Splorph, Stretch, Taper, Twist.


Kangaroo - the interactive dynamic relaxation solver/physics engine - is now included.

Multi-Threaded Components

Some components now solve much faster using parallel computing.


GhPython is also included. It features its own GHA compiler and a major node-in-code speed up.

An Easy Target

Grasshopper is now a stable development target: your components continue to work with each minor Grasshopper update.

Also, developing Grasshopper components using RhinoCommon exposes more Rhino core-functionality from within Grasshopper.

Developer documentation is online with guides and API references.

And More

  As always, there are many bug fixes.

Video credits: Barkow Leibinger, Alvaro Soto, Tanzir Ahmed, Yong Ju Lee, Andrew Kudless, Hisashi Imai, Wieland Schmidt, Sameep Padora, GT2P, Mårten Nettelbladt, LMNts, Jacek Jaskólski, Klemens Sitzmann, Michael Pryor, Peter Graves & Daniel Piker